I’ve been awarded the Liebster Blog Award!

My thanks to Helen Hollick for awarding me a Liebster (German for ‘Favourite’) Blog Award.

The rules of the Liebster Award are:

Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog and link back to the blogger who presented this award to you. Done (see above)

Answer the 11 questions from the nominator Done (see below)

List 11 random facts about yourself Done

Present the Liebster Blog Award to 11 blogs (or less) who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen. Done

Pass on the 11 questions to your nominees (or create new ones) Done (see below)

Copy and Paste the blog award on your blog Done

SO…. my answers to Helen’s questions:

What’s your favourite novel and what do you love about it?

The “Doomsday Book” by Connie Willis, the American sci-fi author. This is a time travel novel which spans both the near future and the Medieval period at the time when the Black Death arrives in England. I discovered it by coincidence in the library, and have been a fan of this author ever since.

Do you have any pet peeves in fiction?

I dislike head-hopping in the same paragraph. I know some very successful authors do this, e.g. Nora Roberts, but I forgive them because they do it well. Most writers don’t.

What are you most proud of?

My children because they’re not afraid to be themselves.

Your favourite and least favourite people in history? (As few or as many as you like!)

Favourites:

King Christian IV of Denmark

Florence Nightingale

Thomas Paine

Least Favourite:

Maximilien Robespierre

Josef Stalin

Pol Pot

The country, city or other place you’d most like to visit?

India, and New York. And I’d love to taste real Cajun food in Louisiana!

Which five people would you like to meet (dead, alive, or fictional)?

Mozart

Aragorn

Florence Nightingale

Charles Dickens

Ann Widdecombe

Is there anyone you would especially like to say Thank You to – and why?

My Latin teacher who managed to instill in me a love of grammar.

What’s one of your goals for the future?

To get back into my pink silk Karen Millen dress…

If you had £1000 (or $1000) to spend, what would you buy?

A pension

What’s your favourite TV show?

“NCIS”. I just love the way the characters interact.

What’s your favourite movie?

“Casablanca” because this is one of the very few movies where the main character has a goal (“I stick my neck out for no one”), which he doesn’t achieve, but instead achieves something much better (“Louie, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship”).

11 Random Facts About Me

1 I love licorice

2 I hate spiders

3 I failed my Legoland driving licence

4 I drink a lot of tea

5 Guinea pigs are my favourite animals

6 On a colour analysis chart I’m a Soft Summer

7 One day I’d like to have a tattoo

8 I never forget a face (be warned!)

9 I’m allergic to perfume

10 Reading makes me happy

11 I have over 40 pairs of shoes

My questions for the Bloggers I have chosen to pass the Liebster Award to:

1 What’s your favourite novel and what do you love about it?

2 Do you have any pet peeves in fiction?

3 What are you most proud of?

4 Your favourite and least favourite people in history? (As few or as many as you like!)

5 The country, city or other place you’d most like to visit?

6 Which five people would you like to meet (dead, alive, or fictional)?

7 What makes you laugh the most?

8 If you could know the future, what would you wish for?

9 If you won the lottery and could donate money to charity, which charity would you choose – and why?

10 Do you suffer from any little phobias or superstitions?

11 What’s your favourite guilty pleasure?

And my chosen blogs to pass the award on to are:

1 Liz Harris

2 Alison Morton

3 New Romantics 4

4 Chris Stovell

5 Carol McGrath

6 Val Holmes

7 The Write Romantics

8 Rhoda Baxter

These are all blogs I enjoy, although I don’t visit as much as I’d like because there is never enough hours in the day to do everything I would LIKE to do, as opposed to everything I HAVE to do!

Thank you again to Helen – and thank you to all who take the time to visit MY blog!

Did I mention that I have a "thing" about shoes?

Did I mention that I have a “thing” about shoes?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I’ve been awarded the Liebster Blog Award!

  1. Fun finding out more about you, Henri, and love the shoes – mine wouldn’t make as glamorous a picture unfortunately!

  2. lizharriswriter says:

    Many thanks for the nomination, Henri. I look forward to getting down to this as soon as the current stage of my edits is done. Groan.

    I shall not, however, be photographing my shoes – only once in all the years of my RNA membership have my feet made the gallery of shoe pics after an RNA event. That speaks volumes about my footwear!

    Liz X

  3. Rhoda Baxter says:

    Thanks for the nomiation Henri. And the SHOES! Oh my! DH instigated a one pair in, one pair out policy with my shoes a few years back. I was good for a couple of years but have started sneaking shoes in again now…

  4. Hi Henri

    Thanks so much for the nomination. I have sent an email out to the nine other Write Romantics to collate some responses and I will post these, and thank you officially, once I get the responses back. Like Liz, I definitely won’t be including photos of my shoes, living in the Kent countryside they mostly consisted of wellies covered in mud!

    Jo x

  5. Lizzie Lamb says:

    Hello Henri, I’m writing this on behalf of the New Romantics 4. We are honoured to be nominated to take part in this blog – we will each take part in answering some of the questions. Hope it doesn’t read like the answers have been written by a committee.

  6. Lizzie Lamb says:

    Maybe the Write Romantics and the New Romantics 4 should combine and become the Write New Romantics? LOL.

  7. Oh. Lovely Henri, when returned to Greece next week and with time I shall put my mind to this. I loved reading your responses and actually I love your blog. Guess I cannot nominate you though!

  8. I love your answers, Henri! Now I shall have to assemble my two brain cells to try and match them.

  9. I love your answers. Great shoes, too!

  10. Thanks again Henri, we’ve posted our responses over at http://thewriteromantics.wordpress.com/2013/06/12/800/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

